Hyatt Place Bloomington/Normal

Reviews

Average rating based on 845 reviews
  • Families

    Clean, east and fast.

    Clean, easy, fast check in. The parking has now changed and is great. Just leave your license plate number when you check in. That's it, plus you get in/out privileges. No having to use an app, no ticket to get validated. Just drive in and out. The down side is parking is across the street so you have to walk a half block to get to the hotel door. The plus side, I was able to see my car out the hotel window.

    bloodydogbite,

    October 2026

    Hyatt Place Normal, General Manager at Hyatt Place Bloomington / Normal, responded to this review

    Thank you for sharing your experience! We’re happy to hear that you enjoyed our clean accommodations and quick, easy check-in process. We’re also glad you appreciate our updated parking system and the convenience of in-and-out privileges. We understand that the short walk from the parking garage to the hotel can be a little inconvenient, but we’re happy you were able to keep an eye on your vehicle from your room. We truly appreciate your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit!

  • Families

    Quality stay

    Great location downtown Normal, with quality amenities and a very good breakfast to boot. The staff were friendly and attentive.

    Brian M,

    October 2026

    Hyatt Place Normal, General Manager at Hyatt Place Bloomington / Normal, responded to this review

    Thank you so much for your wonderful review! We’re delighted to hear that you enjoyed our downtown Normal location, quality amenities, and breakfast. It’s especially great to know that our friendly and attentive staff helped make your stay a pleasant one. We truly appreciate your kind words and look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit!

  • Solo

    Good location

    decent hotel. Staff was not very friendly. parking is not very convenient. Hotel was fine. Lots of food options close by.

    cbrowder44,

    August 2026

    Hyatt Place Normal, General Manager at Hyatt Place Bloomington / Normal, responded to this review

    Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We’re glad you found the hotel comfortable overall and enjoyed the convenient variety of dining options nearby. We’re sorry to hear that our staff did not provide the friendly service we strive for and that the parking situation was inconvenient. Your comments are important to us, and we’ll be sharing this feedback with our team as we continue working to improve the guest experience. We appreciate your stay and hope to have the opportunity to provide you with a better experience in the future.

  • Families

    Great stay

    Very clean, quiet, room was nice, location was great, very easy to access, breakfast had many options. The room was a good price for all the space!

    Allison H,

    August 2026

    Hyatt Place Normal, General Manager at Hyatt Place Bloomington / Normal, responded to this review

    Thank you for the wonderful feedback! We’re delighted to hear that you enjoyed the cleanliness and quiet atmosphere of your room, as well as our convenient location and easy access. It’s also great to know you appreciated the variety of breakfast options and felt you received great value for the space. We truly appreciate you choosing to stay with us and hope to welcome you back again soon!

  • Families

    Worse stay

    The hotel was overbooked so we did not receive the room we booked. We were put in a lower quality room and they refused to refund us the difference in the price. The room was dirty including the couch, shower, bathroom and carpet. The phone did not work and we were told no maintenance crew was available to fix this issue. There was no room service or other food options besides breakfast. Overall it was not a good stay or place to be. Should have tried the marriot across the street i guess

    Leigh Ann K,

    August 2026

    Hyatt Place Normal, General Manager at Hyatt Place Bloomington / Normal, responded to this review

    Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We're truly sorry to hear that your stay did not meet your expectations. We understand how disappointing it is when the room you reserved is not available upon arrival, and we regret the frustration this caused. We also apologize that the condition of your room and the maintenance issue you encountered fell short of the standards we strive to provide. Your comments regarding cleanliness have been shared with our housekeeping team, and we are reviewing your feedback with our staff to help prevent similar situations in the future. We also appreciate your comments regarding our dining options. We understand that limited food availability may not meet every guest's needs, and we value this feedback as we continue looking for ways to improve the overall guest experience. Thank you again for bringing these concerns to our attention. We hope you'll consider giving us another opportunity in the future to provide the quality stay you expected and deserved.

  • Couple

    Disappointed

    Booked a curved room online and paid for it well in advance of our stay. My husbannd and I were celebrating a special event. We were told upon checking in that our room was given away. Then I had to ask for my room rate to be reduced according to the room type I was given. Disappointed. No apologies. I would have thought I would have been given a discount on the rate for the room we were given. But we were not.

    Nikki B,

    August 2026

    Hyatt Place Normal, General Manager at Hyatt Place Bloomington / Normal, responded to this review

    Thank you for sharing your feedback. We sincerely apologize that the room type you reserved and prepaid for was not available upon your arrival, especially during such a special occasion. We understand how disappointing that must have been and regret that we did not provide the level of service and communication you deserved. While we were able to adjust the rate to reflect the room type provided, we recognize that this did not make up for the inconvenience or the impact on your celebration. Your comments have been shared with our team as we work to improve both our reservation management and guest experience. We appreciate your feedback and hope you'll consider giving us another opportunity to provide the stay you originally expected.

  • Business

    Great for ISU Conference

    Would definitely stay again, worked great for our conference at ISU. Breakfast was less then desired. Eggs for rubbery, French toast stick and sausage were good. Would have been nice to have some pastries. It seemed they have a large area to serve and not utilizing it. Room was very nice, big, and clean, coffee in room not good. The only problem in the room was lack of USB plugs.

    Kelly P,

    August 2026

    Hyatt Place Normal, General Manager at Hyatt Place Bloomington / Normal, responded to this review

    Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We're delighted to hear that our hotel worked well for your conference visit to ISU and that you found your room spacious, clean, and comfortable. It's also great to know you enjoyed the French toast sticks and sausage at breakfast. We appreciate your comments regarding the breakfast selection and quality. Guest feedback helps us identify opportunities for improvement, and we'll share your suggestions about adding pastries and making better use of the breakfast area with our team. We're also sorry to hear the in-room coffee and limited USB charging options did not meet your expectations. Thank you again for your valuable feedback. We truly appreciate your business and are glad you would stay with us again. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Bloomington-Normal!

  • Families

    Manager Ellie Braun and Event Manager Cecilia Upton are rude and dismissive

    The stay was ruined because the pool was closed. We booked a group of 12 families and were not told the pool was closed until further notice. Had we known this information we would have booked at another hotel to give our children something to do. When we spoke to the hotel manager, Ellie Braun, she was dismissive and rude. She pushed us off to her event manager Cecilia Upton’s voicemail. She didn’t even say goodbye, she was more annoyed that she had to speak to a customer. I left a voicemail with Cecilia Upton but she never returned my call. The breakfast was gross. We ended up eating Starbucks instead. The Hyatt used to be one of my hotel chains I used based on customer service. However, after this experience you are better off going to Hilton or Marriot.

    C R,

    July 2026

    Hyatt Place Normal, General Manager at Hyatt Place Bloomington / Normal, responded to this review

    Thank you for sharing your feedback. We are truly sorry to hear that your stay did not meet your expectations, especially considering you were traveling with a large group of families. We understand how disappointing it was to arrive and find that our pool was unavailable. The pool is currently undergoing renovation to improve the guest experience, and this information is disclosed on our booking channels and hotel listing pages. We recognize, however, that this may have been overlooked during the booking process, and we regret the frustration and inconvenience this caused for your group. Additionally, we are sorry that our breakfast offerings did not meet your expectations. We continuously evaluate guest feedback and will take your comments into consideration as we look for ways to improve. We appreciate you bringing these concerns to our attention. While we regret that this experience changed your perception of our hotel, we hope you will consider giving us another opportunity in the future to provide the level of hospitality for which Hyatt is known.

  • Families

    A Standout Hyatt Place

    Terrific hotel. Clean, quiet with free parking and a better-than-average breakfast selection. Terrific employees who were very helpful. Great neighborhood with restaurants and interesting shops within walking distance.

    purefood2002,

    July 2026

    Hyatt Place Normal, General Manager at Hyatt Place Bloomington / Normal, responded to this review

    Thank you for your wonderful review! We're delighted to hear that you enjoyed our clean and quiet hotel, complimentary parking, and breakfast selection. It's especially rewarding to know that our team made a positive impression with their helpful service. We're also glad you had the opportunity to explore the neighborhood and enjoy the nearby restaurants and unique shops. We truly appreciate your feedback and hope to welcome you back again soon!

  • Families

    Not worth the premium price

    Not comfortable; not clean. Overcrowded, poor breakfast selections, poor hours. Someone put their greasy head on the window and left it that way for us. Thanks for the extra hair in the bathroom for my collection. Nice saggy bed, too. Appreciate the attention to detail when you overbook rooms so that confirmations are not honored. Makes it unpleasant for everyone.

    M M,

    July 2026

    Hyatt Place Normal, General Manager at Hyatt Place Bloomington / Normal, responded to this review

    Thank you for sharing your feedback. We sincerely apologize that your stay did not meet your expectations. Cleanliness, comfort, and honoring guest reservations are all areas we take very seriously, and we're disappointed to hear that we fell short during your visit. We regret the condition of your room, including the cleanliness issues you encountered, as well as your concerns regarding the bed, breakfast offerings, and overall guest experience. Your comments have been shared with our housekeeping and hotel leadership teams for review and follow-up. We also understand how frustrating any reservation-related issue can be, and we're sorry for the inconvenience and disappointment this caused. Feedback like yours helps us identify opportunities to improve, and we appreciate you bringing these concerns to our attention. We hope you'll consider giving us another opportunity to provide the quality experience our guests expect and deserve.

  • Friends

    Beware of mold!

    The good part: the young lady who checked us in was delightful. Very helpful and gave lots of good information. The however room was not great. There was what appeared to be black mold on the ceiling in front of the vent. The carpet was filthy. The whole room felt damp. Very disappointing for such an expensive room! The hotel apologized for the problems but did not offer to discount the room or anything. Will not be returning!

    connieloo,

    July 2026

    Hyatt Place Normal, General Manager at Hyatt Place Bloomington / Normal, responded to this review

    Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We're pleased to hear that the team member who checked you in made such a positive impression and provided helpful, welcoming service. That said, we are very sorry to learn about the condition of your room. Cleanliness and comfort are fundamental to a positive guest experience, and we regret that issues with the carpet, dampness, and what appeared to be mold on the ceiling detracted from your stay. We also understand your disappointment regarding the value of your room and that our response did not leave you feeling that your concerns were adequately addressed. Please know that your comments have been shared with our management, housekeeping, and maintenance teams for review and corrective action. We appreciate you bringing these matters to our attention, as guest feedback helps us identify areas where we need to improve. We apologize that we fell short of your expectations and regret that we did not provide the experience you deserved. We wish you safe travels and thank you again for your honest feedback.

  • Families

    Usually, A Great Stay!!

    This is usually a great place to stay. My concerns during this visit were the pool was closed for repairs during the 4th of July weekend and only offering room service every other day. Otherwise, it is in a great location and the staff members were very friendly.

    Bethel52,

    July 2026

    Hyatt Place Normal, General Manager at Hyatt Place Bloomington / Normal, responded to this review

    Hello Bethel52- Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback and for being a returning guest. We are delighted to hear that you generally enjoy staying with us, appreciate our convenient location, and found our team to be friendly and welcoming. I sincerely apologize for the disappointment caused by the pool closure during your Fourth of July weekend stay. We understand that our pool is an important amenity for many guests, especially during holiday weekends, and we regret any inconvenience the necessary repairs caused. We also appreciate your feedback regarding housekeeping service. Our housekeeping schedule is designed to balance guest comfort and sustainability efforts, but we understand that preferences can vary, and we are always happy to provide additional service upon request. Thank you again for your valuable feedback and for your continued loyalty. We truly appreciate your understanding and look forward to welcoming you back for an even better experience in the future.

  • Families

    A nice town to visit

    The town is wonderful. The employees were very kind and did their best to help us. Unfortunately, our room had issues that could not be helped. The hotel was booked and we could not change a different room. The hotel needs updated.

    Helene W,

    July 2026

    Hyatt Place Normal, General Manager at Hyatt Place Bloomington / Normal, responded to this review

    Hello Helene- Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We truly appreciate you choosing to stay with us and are grateful for your comments. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed aspects of your stay, and we also appreciate your honest feedback regarding the areas where we fell short of your expectations. Guest comments like yours help us identify opportunities to improve the overall experience we provide. As part of our commitment to enhancing our hotel, we are excited to share that a comprehensive remodel is scheduled to begin at the end of this year. The renovation will include updates throughout the property designed to create a more comfortable, modern, and enjoyable experience for our guests. Thank you again for your valuable feedback. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future so you can experience the improvements firsthand. Warm regards, Lynn Mauricio General Manager

  • Couple

    Great location for ISU/Downtown activities!

    Very good location. Close to ISU campus and downtown activities, Amtrak, and great places to eat. Staff is ho-hum for friendliness and being engaging. The rooms are clean and the 2nd floor outdoor space is lovely.

    Stephanie L,

    July 2026

    Hyatt Place Normal, General Manager at Hyatt Place Bloomington / Normal, responded to this review

    Thank you for sharing your feedback. We're delighted to hear that you enjoyed our convenient location near ISU, downtown attractions, Amtrak, and the many great dining options in the area. We're also pleased that you found your room clean and were able to enjoy our second-floor outdoor space. We appreciate your comments regarding the friendliness and engagement of our staff. Providing warm and welcoming service is very important to us, and we'll use your feedback as an opportunity to improve the guest experience. Thank you for choosing to stay with us. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back and provide an even better experience on your next visit. 😊

  • Families

    Overall excellent!

    Overall excellent. Breakfast was top notch! Wish the pool was up and running. But overall a good deal for the quality of room and breakfast :) there is a local free basketball and beach volleyball court around the corner a block away. if they ever install a hot tub then it would "THE BEST" but until then.....

    Tico T,

    June 2026

    Hyatt Place Normal, General Manager at Hyatt Place Bloomington / Normal, responded to this review

    Hello Tico- Thank you for your wonderful review! We're delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay, especially our breakfast and the quality of the room. It's also great that you were able to take advantage of the nearby community amenities, including the basketball and beach volleyball courts. We appreciate your feedback regarding the pool and your suggestion for a hot tub. Guest comments like yours help us understand what amenities are most important to travelers, and we'll be sure to share your thoughts with our team. Thank you for recognizing the value we provide, and we hope to welcome you back again soon for another excellent stay! 😊

  • Business

    Group sales beware

    Be careful when working with Group sales. Instead of a complimentary block we were charged for rooms we didn’t use by having a different type of contract in place. They would not work with our small organization and though we worked with them every year since they opened they would not work with us. In this current economy I find this level of custom service to be unacceptable.

    Amy B,

    June 2026

    Hyatt Place Normal, General Manager at Hyatt Place Bloomington / Normal, responded to this review

    Hello Amy- hank you for sharing your feedback. We are truly sorry to hear about your disappointment and understand the financial challenges this situation has created for your organization. We value the relationship we have built with your group over the years and appreciate the trust you have placed in us. While we understand your concerns regarding the room block charges, the attrition terms were included in and agreed to as part of the signed contract for this event. These provisions help us reserve accommodations and manage inventory based on the commitments made at the time of booking. We recognize that unforeseen circumstances can impact attendance and budgets, and we are sorry that we were unable to reach a resolution that met your expectations. Our team did review the agreement and the options available under the contract before responding. We appreciate your past business and regret that this experience has affected your perception of our hotel. We wish your organization continued success and thank you for the opportunity to have hosted your events over the years.

  • Business

    Absolute worst experience

    This was by far the worst experience at a hotel. I arrived at 9pm and was assigned a room where the air conditioning was not functioning. When I informed the front desk, the staff did not seem surprised by the issue and told me that there was nothing they could do because the hotel was sold out. What was particularly frustrating was that guests were still actively checking in, and I was told that other rooms were being held for later arrivals due to the possibility that some guests might still arrive. As a guest ans explorist status member who had already checked in and discovered that my assigned room was not habitable, I found it difficult to understand why resolving my situation was not prioritized. The situation became even more concerning when two members of the fire department arrived at the front desk regarding another room. I was told that a guest had left because of an odor concern and that the fire department had inspected the room and found only a mild smell. The front desk then asked me to inspect that room as a potential alternative. When I entered the room, it was still in disarray and had not been cleaned after the previous guest's departure. I was informed that housekeeping was unavailable and that the staff could simply strip the bed and provide fresh sheets. I explained that it was unacceptable to offer a room that had not been properly cleaned and prepared for a new guest. At that point, after spending significant time trying to resolve the situation and experiencing considerable stress, I informed the staff that I would leave and find alternative accommodations (which were extremely limited given how late it was). Only then was I told that a functioning, properly prepared room could be made available. In total, I lost well over 90min dealing with issues that should have been resolved much earlier. Beyond the inconvenience, what concerns me most is the apparent willingness to assign a room with known maintenance issues, offer a room that had not been cleaned, and only provide an acceptable solution after repeated escalation. I have generally had positive experiences with Hyatt properties, which is why this experience was particularly surprising and disappointing.

    simonyc2015,

    June 2026

    Hyatt Place Normal, General Manager at Hyatt Place Bloomington / Normal, responded to this review

    Hello- Thank you for taking the time to share your experience and for your loyalty as a Hyatt Explorist member. I sincerely apologize for the series of issues you encountered during your stay. First and foremost, I am sorry that you were assigned a room with a non-functioning air conditioning unit. Regardless of occupancy levels, you should never be placed in a room that is not fully operational, and I understand your frustration when a timely resolution was not immediately provided. I also apologize for the handling of the room relocation process. Offering a room that had not been properly serviced and prepared for a new guest is not consistent with our standards or the experience we strive to provide. I understand why this was both disappointing and concerning, particularly after a long day of travel and late-evening arrival. Most importantly, I regret that it took repeated escalation and significant time on your part before an acceptable solution was presented. Losing more than 90 minutes trying to resolve issues that should have been addressed much sooner is unacceptable. We should have done a better job prioritizing your situation once the condition of your assigned room was known. While we occasionally face unexpected maintenance and operational challenges, that does not excuse the shortcomings you experienced. Your feedback regarding communication, room readiness, and decision-making during a sold-out night has been shared with our leadership team so we can review our procedures and better serve guests in similar situations moving forward. Thank you again for bringing these concerns to our attention. We value your loyalty to Hyatt and are disappointed that this stay failed to reflect the standards you have come to expect from our brand. I hope we will have the opportunity to restore your confidence in the future.

  • Families

    Great hotel

    Convenient location to the activities of the Special Olympics. It is a very clean hotel. Friendly staff. Good breakfast.

    Cristina D,

    June 2026

    Hyatt Place Normal, General Manager at Hyatt Place Bloomington / Normal, responded to this review

    Hello- Thank you for your wonderful review! We are delighted to hear that our location was convenient for your Special Olympics activities and that you enjoyed your stay with us. It's especially rewarding to know that you found the hotel clean, enjoyed our breakfast, and experienced friendly service from our team. Creating a welcoming and comfortable environment for our guests is our top priority, and your kind words mean a great deal to us. Thank you for choosing to stay with us. We appreciate your support and look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to the area.

  • Families

    Expected Better from Hyatt

    I was very disappointed with our stay. The room and overall hotel did not appear clean. Within minutes of walking barefoot in the room, my son’s feet were extremely dirty, which was very concerning. The carpet looked and felt unclean, and the room had a muggy odor throughout our stay. We were traveling with a special needs child who requires milk to be kept refrigerated. Unfortunately, the mini fridge in our room did not work, causing his milk to spoil. When I asked about access to a microwave, I was told there was only one near the front desk, which was very inconvenient. Other issues included: * Ice machine was broken. * Bathroom was stocked with only one roll of toilet paper. * After requesting more, we were only given one additional roll despite having four people staying for two nights. * Drawer doors and the refrigerator door would not close properly. * The room generally felt poorly maintained. For the price paid and the Hyatt brand reputation, I expected much better cleanliness, maintenance, and accommodations. This experience was especially difficult because we were traveling with a child who has special needs. I hope management addresses these issues so future guests have a better experience.

    Mayra M,

    June 2026

    Hyatt Place Normal, General Manager at Hyatt Place Bloomington / Normal, responded to this review

    Hello Mayra- Thank you for sharing your feedback. I want to sincerely apologize that your stay did not meet your expectations, especially while traveling with your child. We understand how important comfort, cleanliness, and reliable room amenities are, and I am sorry that we fell short in several areas. The concerns you described regarding the cleanliness of the room and carpeting are particularly troubling, and I will be sharing your comments with our housekeeping team for immediate review. I also regret the issues you experienced with the refrigerator, furniture, and room maintenance. A non-functioning refrigerator is unacceptable, especially when it impacts a guest's ability to store essential items such as milk for a child with special needs. I am also sorry for the inconvenience caused by the broken ice machine, limited bathroom supplies, and the lack of a more convenient microwave option. We strive to anticipate our guests' needs and provide prompt, appropriate service, and it is clear we did not do that in your case. Your feedback is valuable because it helps us identify opportunities for improvement and address issues that may otherwise go unnoticed. We appreciate you bringing these concerns to our attention and will use your comments to help improve the experience for future guests. Thank you again for your honest feedback. We hope you will consider giving us another opportunity in the future to provide the level of service and accommodations you rightfully expected from our hotel. Lynn M General Manager

  • Families

    Great Service, Pool closed and wifi didnt work

    Rooms were clean and spatious. Staff was very attentive and helpful. Breakfast was very good and plentiful Pool was closed yet advertized as having pool, Wifi did not work ever, Snacks available for purchase were minimal.

    ILimplant,

    June 2026

    Hyatt Place Normal, General Manager at Hyatt Place Bloomington / Normal, responded to this review

    Hello- Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We are delighted to hear that you found our rooms clean and spacious, and that our team was attentive and helpful throughout your stay. It's also wonderful to know you enjoyed our breakfast offerings. I apologize for the inconvenience you experienced with the Wi-Fi service and for the limited snack selection available for purchase. We understand how important reliable internet access and convenient food options are to our guests, and we appreciate you bringing these concerns to our attention. Regarding the pool, while it was unfortunately out of service during your stay, this information was noted on our website prior to arrival. We certainly understand that this can still be disappointing, especially for guests who were looking forward to enjoying that amenity, and we apologize for any frustration it caused. We appreciate your balanced feedback, as it helps us identify opportunities to improve while recognizing the areas where our team is succeeding. Thank you for choosing to stay with us, and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

Showing 20 reviews since June 15, 2026.