Hyatt House Shelton

Reviews

Average rating based on 627 reviews
  • Families

    Great Stay and Convenient Location

    I had a very nice overnight stay. The staff was friendly and helpful, the room was comfortable, and the location was great. I would definitely consider staying here again!

    Emmy R,

    October 2026

    General Manager, Guest Services / Front Office at Hyatt House Shelton, responded to this review

    Emmy, we are so glad our team made your overnight stay welcoming. It is great to know your room was comfortable and our location worked well for you. We would be happy to host you again at Hyatt House Shelton!

  • Couple

    Double Charged at Check-In & Disappointing Front Desk Service

    Unfortunately, my stay was negatively affected by the check-in experience. Both front desk representatives appeared more focused on their phones than assisting guests. The young man checking me in repeatedly looked down at his phone while I questioned the deposit. I specifically explained that I understood I was only supposed to be charged a $50 incidental deposit. Despite raising my concern before the transaction was completed, I was charged for the room again, resulting in a duplicate charge. I then spent several days trying to get my money refunded. Front desk staff are the face of the hotel, and guests deserve their full attention, especially when handling payments. This experience was frustrating, unprofessional, and completely avoidable. I will not stay at this location again.

    Barnardia I,

    October 2026

    General Manager, Guest Services / Front Office at Hyatt House Shelton, responded to this review

    We are sorry the check-in experience left you spending days seeking a refund. Payment questions deserve our team’s full attention, and we understand how frustrating it is to have to pursue a resolution after your stay. Your comments about the service and billing have been shared with our Guest Relations team. We appreciate you bringing this to our attention.

  • Families

    I’m very surprised, and feel extremely taken advantage of

    I am curious to understand why the team, managers etc did not care about our frustration and why the excuses, I understand updates are necessary but it was poorly managed and the seemed in apoplectic. Hyatt has a wonderful reputation and I have stayed in many across different states. I have never felt the disappointment that I feel about the amount of money they charged for staying under that many updates to the facility, it was extremely disappointing. They offered nothing in return only to say “There is nothing we can do about that” water damage, mold, putrid smells everywhere, dust. Etc. You get in return for over 200 dollars a night! 🫣

    Towanda B,

    August 2026

    General Manager, Guest Services / Front Office at Hyatt House Shelton, responded to this review

    Towanda, we are truly sorry for the experience you described during your recent visit. Reading about your frustrations with the way the renovations were handled and the overall environment of the property, along with your disappointment in the management response, is concerning to us. It is never our intention for any guest to feel undervalued or for your trust in Hyatt to be shaken, especially after so many positive stays elsewhere. We understand how troubling it is when your guest room and the facility do not reflect the standards you expect or deserve. The concerns you brought up around the condition of the building and the situation you encountered are being shared with both our housekeeping and engineering teams so we can address these issues with urgency. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We are grateful for the opportunity to improve.

  • Families

    Worth the money!

    10/10 I have no cons with these hotel. Staff was friendly, room was clean, bed was comfortable. Building going through renovations yet kept clean and clutter free.

    Curiosity40288164267,

    August 2026

    General Manager, Guest Services / Front Office at Hyatt House Shelton, responded to this review

    We love hearing you felt your stay was such a great value, Curiosity40288164267! It is wonderful to know our team members helped you feel at home and that your guest room was both comfortable and well cared for. Welcoming you to Hyatt House Shelton was a pleasure, and we hope to see you again soon!

  • Families

    Missed the mark

    Do not go to this hotel. No comfortable regular size chairs to sit on during breakfast, only high chairs or low seats. Only one elevator worked of the two available and a couple who had been there since January said it had been broken for weeks. If you are with two people the rooms only have one chair, at the table so you can not sit at the table together. If you would like a toaster in your room, it is not available. It was a quiet room and a clean bed and a clean room, so they have that going for them. And breakfast was below par and cold. We had breakfast at 7:30 and 8:30 and 9:00. We were there for three nights and recommend you look for some other place for that price.

    Trees W,

    July 2026

    General Manager, Guest Services / Front Office at Hyatt House Shelton, responded to this review

    Thank you for taking the time to share your experience, Trees. We are truly sorry that your visit did not meet your expectations. It is clear there were several areas that fell short for you, including the breakfast experience and some of our amenities. Your comments about the broken elevator and the seating situation will be addressed with our engineering and Guest Relations teams, while your feedback about the breakfast will be directed to our breakfast team for review. While we are glad your guest room offered a quiet place to rest and was clean, we know that this does not make up for the other issues you encountered. We appreciate you bringing these matters to our attention and are grateful for the opportunity to improve.

  • Families

    Rather expensive, but the only pet friendly hotel in the area we wanted to stay.

    Excellent condition facilities, attentive staff. AC made strange noises, weird layout of the room but it was very clean and updated.

    Paul L,

    July 2026

    General Manager, Guest Services / Front Office at Hyatt House Shelton, responded to this review

    We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience, Paul. While it's good to know you found our facilities in great condition and our team attentive, we are sorry about the issues with your room's layout and the sounds from your AC unit. Your feedback will be shared with our engineering and Guest Relations teams. Thank you again for letting us know.

  • Solo

    Royal Treatment

    I stayed at the Shelton, Connecticut location and had an awesome experience. The staff and the cleanliness of the Hyatt was top notch! Looking forward to another stay.

    Maria R,

    May 2026

    General Manager, Guest Services / Front Office at Hyatt House Shelton, responded to this review

    Maria, reading your review truly brought a smile to our faces! We are so happy to hear that your visit to Hyatt House Shelton stood out for both the warm hospitality from our team and the emphasis we place on cleanliness. Knowing you are already looking forward to another stay is the highest compliment we could hope for. We cannot wait to welcome you back!

  • Solo

    Wonderful place to stay!

    Wonderful hotel! Clean, spacious rooms. Friendly, helpful staff! Great breakfast with a wide variety of choices. Comfortable beds. Will definitely be staying here again!

    Keri H,

    March 2026

    General Manager, Guest Services / Front Office at Hyatt House Shelton, responded to this review

    This absolutely made our day, Keri! Hearing how much you enjoyed your experience at Hyatt House Shelton means a great deal to our entire team. From your guest room to breakfast, it is wonderful to know you felt so comfortable. We cannot wait to welcome you back on your next visit!

  • Friends

    Highly Recommend!

    Beautiful place to stay with a very relaxed and comfortable atmosphere, we will gladly stay here again! The amenities made our stay even more enjoyable and breakfast was delicious!

    karinahC1228AX,

    March 2026

    General Manager, Guest Services / Front Office at Hyatt House Shelton, responded to this review

    What a joy to read your review, Karina! Hearing that you found Hyatt House Shelton both beautiful and comfortable means so much to our team. We are happy our amenities and breakfast added to your experience. It would be wonderful to welcome you back on your next visit!

  • Couple

    Quaint yet BIG

    The Hyatt House has everything you need in your stay. Beautiful, comfortable, great complimentary items, a great breakfast, and so on and so forth. I was completely blown away by this hidden gem.

    Chevonne S,

    February 2026

    General Manager, Guest Services / Front Office at Hyatt House Shelton, responded to this review

    Chevonne, thank you for your wonderful feedback! We’re delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Hyatt House Shelton and that our amenities, breakfast, and welcoming atmosphere made such an impression on you. It means a lot to our team to know you felt right at home. We look forward to welcoming you back for another memorable visit.

  • Solo

    Worst Trip!! So much for a birthday getaway!

    The shower was freezing! The check in guy messed up my reservation removed 2 days, charged my card 3 times, told me I had to leave after depleting my bank accounts and I had to call corporate the next morning to be able to stay! The handle on out stove top was broken and ill likely never stay at a Hyatt again due to the awful treatment at check in!

    chrissy s,

    January 2026

    General Manager, Guest Services / Front Office at Hyatt House Shelton, responded to this review

    Chrissy, thank you for sharing your experience. We’re sorry your visit did not meet expectations, and we understand how disappointing this must have been, especially for a special occasion. Your comments have been shared with our team so we can address these concerns and work to improve future guest stays.

  • Families

    Hotel stay

    The property is nice and clean. The breakfast is very good. The room was comfortable and clean. However, the guests above me had children running around and banging all night so it was impossible to get a good nights sleep. I understand that children are going to be children, but parents don’t parent anymore. Hotels should do a better job at placing guests with children on the first floor to ensure guests aren’t disturbed.

    gregoryp350,

    January 2026

    General Manager, Guest Services / Front Office at Hyatt House Shelton, responded to this review

    Thank you for sharing your feedback, Gregoryp350. We’re glad to hear you appreciated the clean accommodations, comfortable room, and breakfast during your stay. We understand how important a restful night is and recognize your frustration with noise disturbances. Your comments about room placement offer helpful insight, and we’ll review them with our team as we continue to look for ways to enhance the guest experience.

  • Families

    Worked for a family visit

    Hotel was convenient for our visit and room sizes and types were what we needed for traveling with small children. It was hard to get immediately in contact with the onsite staff when calling in because of the automated system. Staff helped to get milk for baby before breakfast was open but in the end they charged us $14 which was a surprise

    Julie S,

    December 2025

    General Manager, Guest Services / Front Office at Hyatt House Shelton, responded to this review

    Thank you for sharing your feedback, Julie. We’re glad our location and room options worked well for your family trip. We appreciate your comments about the automated phone system and the charge for milk, and we’ll take this into account as we look for ways to improve the guest experience. We hope to welcome you again in the future.

  • Solo

    Very comfortable night stay

    Very clean room, absolutely the best night sleep, comfortable bed. TV was large, room was comfortable and met all my needs.

    Crystal W,

    October 2025

    General Manager, Guest Services / Front Office at Hyatt House Shelton, responded to this review

    Crystal, thank you for sharing your feedback. We're glad to hear you found your room comfortable and that you enjoyed a restful night's sleep. Your comments are truly appreciated and help us continue to enhance the guest experience. We hope to welcome you again in the future.

  • Business

    Hotel rooms in disrepair

    The lobby and breakfast area and bar are nice and the pool table is a nice touch. However, my room was terrible - broken things, severely scratched and dented furniture and appliances, terrible smell in the hallway, and more. This hotel needs to pay more attention to keeping its rooms up to Hyatt standards. The room itself, other than the comfortable bed, felt kind of like a cheap motel.

    jenbT7584PF,

    October 2025

    General Manager, Guest Services / Front Office at Hyatt House Shelton, responded to this review

    Jen, thank you for sharing your feedback with us. We're sorry your visit did not meet expectations, and we appreciate you highlighting both what you enjoyed and areas where we can improve. Your comments have been shared with our team and will help us focus on making necessary enhancements. Thank you again for letting us know about your experience.

  • Solo

    King Studio stay late Sept 2025

    I stay in Shelton CT often, so I try to find the cheapest hotel on Bridgeport Ave. I travel in to see family so it's not a business trip. That being said it was my first time here. The parking under the building was convenient. Once you leave the garage the elevator is right inside. The room was well taken care of when I went out for the day I had a room on the back, so I had trees outside my window which was nice. The room was spacious for a studio. 2 burner stove, large refrigerator and small microwave (plus a garbage disposal!). All the utensils for cooking a quick, simple meal. Bathrooms were nice. Big counter with the sink, then a separate space for shower and toilet. Big closet. Well big enough for 2 people. My only notice was the kitchen table looked a bit worn. Also, there aren't the usual plugs for electronics. A few places I've stayed had a dedicated device with all different kinds of plugs for a variety of charging situation. This did not have that. There was one electric plug attached to each bedside lamp. There are other outlets around the room but not in a convenient place to charge up multiple electronics. There was a plug in the wall near the window, with a windowsill you "could" put a phone on without it dropping off. My annoyance was having plugs everywhere instead of one central charging station near the bed. I travel with my tablet, phone and a Galaxy watch, that all need charging. My watch was on kitchen table to charge; tablet and phone took turns with the plug on the lamp. (I would charge my tablet while I was out during the day, then charge the phone overnight). Housekeeping was good. No complaints. I would have liked to skip a day or two however I didn't have a sign for my door. Also, there is an ice machine however I could not locate the ice bucket. It might have been there, but it wasn't obvious.

    Sherpa45805133027,

    October 2025

    General Manager, Guest Services / Front Office at Hyatt House Shelton, responded to this review

    The team at Hyatt House Shelton is thrilled you enjoyed your stay and found the suite comfortable and convenient for your needs. It's great to know the amenities and surroundings made your visit pleasant. Your feedback regarding charging options, the kitchen table, and in-room items is appreciated, as it helps identify areas for further enhancement. The colleagues are pleased you found everything well-kept, and they hope to welcome you again for future visits to Shelton.

  • Friends

    Great Stay- Would Return! Nick is the Best!

    Our stay was excellent. Nick checked us in and out, and was such a personable, friendly, and helpful person throughout our stay. The housekeeping staff was also very responsive and great. The room was clean and comfortable. Although there was no hot tub like older reviews mentioned, we enjoyed the slightly heated pool. Parking was free and the location was great as it was near some nice food establishments. Thank you!

    Maps742956,

    October 2025

    General Manager, Guest Services / Front Office at Hyatt House Shelton, responded to this review

    Maps742956, it’s wonderful to hear you had a great time at Hyatt House Shelton. The team is thrilled that you found the accommodations comfortable and the service from both Nick and the housekeeping colleagues so memorable. Thank you for highlighting the convenient location and enjoyable amenities. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit.

  • Families

    Wedding Weekend

    The hotel was welcoming as soon as we arrived for our wedding weekend. The rooms were clean and set up nice. Rooms do not have a safe which we thought was odd. We had the bridal suite booked for getting ready and it was a perfect set up for hair and makeup for 13 girls. We were even able to check in to our room earlier than anticipated due to them being clean early! We booked the after party bar and it was amazing.

    chelseadeeeee,

    September 2025

    General Manager, Guest Services / Front Office at Hyatt House Shelton, responded to this review

    Chelsea, it’s wonderful to hear you had a great time at Hyatt House Shelton during your wedding weekend. The team is delighted that you found the accommodations comfortable and the bridal suite ideal for your celebrations. Thank you for sharing your feedback regarding the in-room amenities. We're thrilled you enjoyed the after party experience and appreciated the flexibility with early check-in. The Hyatt House Shelton team looks forward to welcoming you again.

  • Families

    Under renovation, but not bad.

    Overall, experience was above average. The hotel is under construction which we were unaware of, but it did not impact our stay. Only complaint was a lack of parking (although there is a garage underneath, didn't feel secure parking there). We had to park at the Chili's in front of the hotel for our stay overnight. Despite the construction the hotel was clean and any staff we ran into were friendly. After we left, we realized my wife left her charger behind. I contacted the hotel and they said they'd look in our room. They found it, but we were charged to send it back. In the past, we've had hotels send items such as this back free of charge. That would really be my only complaint. We were also overcharged for the room when we checked out, but when I sent an email notifying of the overage the charge was immediately adjusted, which was nice.

    Pat D,

    September 2025

    General Manager, Guest Services / Front Office at Hyatt House Shelton, responded to this review

    Pat, it’s great to know you had a pleasant stay at Hyatt House Shelton. The team is glad you found the environment tidy and colleagues approachable, even during the ongoing updates. Your comments about parking and the shipping policy for left-behind items have been noted for consideration. Prompt resolution of your billing concern is important, and it's good to hear this was handled quickly. Thank you for choosing Hyatt House Shelton.

  • Families

    Would not recommend

    Definitely call ahead to check on construction, business center functionality, and check all the clocks (none of them in our rooms were correct leading to missed shuttles).

    Adventure21663338276,

    September 2025

    General Manager, Guest Services / Front Office at Hyatt House Shelton, responded to this review

    Adventure21663338276, thank you for sharing these observations. The team is committed to making each stay as smooth as possible and will take your input into consideration as efforts continue to enhance the guest experience.

Showing 20 reviews since September 6, 2025.